Great Smeaton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Great Smeaton

Guide to Great Smeaton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Smeaton, Yorkshire
Great Smeaton St Eloy Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allertonshire; East Gilling
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Northallerton PLU
Registration District Northallerton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Smeaton St Eloy is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.  Appleton Wiske, Yorkshire is a chapelry of Great Smeaton. Other places in the parish include: Enter Common, Hornby near Northallerton, and Hornby.
SMEATON, GREAT, a parish, in the union of Northallerton, partly in the wapentake of Allertonshire, and partly in Gilling-East, N. riding of York, 6½ miles (N. by W.) from Northallerton; containing, with the township of Hornby, 517 inhabitants. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Northallerton registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Great Smeaton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
GREAT SMEATON PARISH (1627) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1627-1895

1627-1844

1627-1895

JOIN None

1679-1837

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Great Smeaton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Great Smeaton page.

List of Chapelry's in this Parish


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Great Smeaton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GREAT SMEATON PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.

Poor Law Unions

Northallerton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 123-125. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,231 times.