Great Stanney, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Great Stanney

Contents

Parish History

STANNEY (Great and Little), has two townships in Stoke parish, Cheshire; it is 6 and 5 miles N of Chester.[1]

Stoak , St. Lawrence is an ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Great Stanney, Little Stanney, Stoak or Stoke (near Chester) and part of Whitby. Great Stanney is an extra parochial place within the parish.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church records

Great Stanney extra-parochial no records.

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Great Stanney Extra-Parochial No Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Stoak 1573-1964 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P31/1/1-4, P31/2/1-2, P31/3059/1/1-2, P31/3059/2-4, P31/5.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1573-1579, 1601-1754 (Some Latin.) Baptisms, burials, 1754-1812. BRITISH 2068673 Items 7-10
Baptisms, 1813-1925, Marriages, 1754-1964, Banns of marriage, 1824-1918, Burials, 1813-1889 BRITISH 2068674 Items 1-7

Bishop's transcripts for Stoak (Stoke), 1607-1848 Records are not in strict chronological order. Some years are missing.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1607, 1613-1615, 1618, 1621-1624, 1626-1627, 1630, 1632-1641, 1666, 1668-1675, 1679-1686, 1690-1691, 1712-1728, 1730-1809, 1813-1818, 1821-1831. Baptisms, burials, 1811-1812, 1819. Baptisms, 1820, 1832-1833. BRITISH 1751851 Item 2
Burials, 1832. Baptisms, burials, 1833-1834, 1843-1848. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1835-1841. BRITISH 1751852 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Wolverham, Methodist Chapel. Founded 1954, closed in 1962.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–50)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013

Bibliography

  • Ormerod, George; Thomas Helsby (Ed.) (1882), The History of the County Palatine and City of Chester (2nd ed.), London: George Routledge and Sons, pp. ii: 387–392
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 305–309
  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 175, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
  • Hess, John P. (2007–2008). "Backford's Memorial Boards: were they painted by a Randle Holme?". Cheshire History 47: 34–39. ISSN 0141-8696

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,390 times.