Great Torrington, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Great Torrington, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Torrington, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fremington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Torrington PLU
Registration District Torrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1616
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Torrington
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TORRINGTON, GREAT (St. Michael), an incorporated market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Fremington. Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 34 miles (N. W.) from Exeter. The name of this place is derived from its situation on the river Torridge. The church, owing to its partial destruction by gunpowder in 1646, was rebuilt in 1651. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
GREAT TORRINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1784-1806 None 1808-1812 None 1786-1806 None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241311.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 377-380. Date accessed and adapted: 28 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,654 times.