Great Western Docks, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngDevon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Great Western Docks, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Western Docks, Devon
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plymouth Borough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plymouth Incorporation PLU
Registration District Plymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The Great Western Docks at Millbay, Plymouth, were opened informally in February 1857 and during the remainder of that century prospered, largely as a result of their connection to the South Devon and Great Western Railways. St. Andrew's parish extends to include the Mill Bay area.[1]

The parish history of GREAT WESTERN DOCKS is found under DEVONPORT, a celebrated naval arsenal, and a borough, in the parish of Stoke-Damerall, or Stoke, S. division of the hundred of Roborough, S. division of Devon, 1½ mile (W.) from Plymouth, containing, with Morice-Town and Stoke, and, including the parish of East Stonehouse. In the reign of William III. a naval arsenal was established here, under the name of Plymouth Dock, and to this event the town is indebted for its importance and present magnitude. The dockyard, one of the finest in the world; its water boundary forms a curve bending outwards in a western direction. The inhabitants have free access likewise to the dockyard chapel. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. The Encyclopaedia of Plymouth History
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 46-55. Date accessed 5 July 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,697 times.