Great Wyrley, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Great Wyrley, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Great Wyrley, Staffordshire
St Mark Great Wyrley Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Penkridge PLU
Registration District Penkridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rugeley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hansacre and Armitage
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Wyrley St Mark is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1845 from Cannock, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. WYRLEY, GREAT, a township, in the parish of Cannock, union of Penkridge, E. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone, S. division of the county of Stafford, 6½ miles (N. N. W.) from Walsall. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Wyrley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]|}
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]   FREG - Search under Cannock
GREAT WYRLEY ST MARK PARISH (1845) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1845-1906
1846-1906


FREG 1845-1859


1845-1887


Non-Conformist Churches

Jacobs Hall Lane Methodist Chapel (Great Wyrley) registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

JACOBS HALL LANE METHODIST CHAPEL (GREAT WYRLEY) (1897) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1897-1982






Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Poor Law Unions

Penkridge Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 703-707. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 July 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 15:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,399 times.