Greatham with Wiggonholt, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes
Greatham with Wiggonholt, Sussex
Wigginholt Parish Church West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Easwrith
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Sutton; East Preston PLU
Registration District Chichester; Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRAFFHAM (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Easebourne, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 4 miles (S. W.) from Petworth.[1]

Greatham is a small village in the Horsham district of West Sussex Greatham West Sussex Wikipedia Wiggonholt Wikipedia

Greatham with Wiggonholt is an Ancient Parish in the county of Sussex.Other places in the parish include: Wigginholt and Wiggonholt.

Wigginholt parish church had no known dedication; the history is described Wigginholt Church

Greatham Church, West Sussex.jpg

Wiggonholt with Greatham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also :

 Greatham Church Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Horsham District A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 332-338.  here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the parish of Greatham was in the Chichester registration district

Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

From 1837 the parish of Wigginholt was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Wigginholt parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Wiggonholt Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1597-1900
1620-1898
1620-1900

Wigginholt cum Greatham

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1597-1992 Marr 1620-1993 Bur 1620-1993

Bishop's Transcripts 1592-1895



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Greatham with Wiggonholt

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 319-322. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,604 times.