Green Island, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Albany County Gotoarrow.png Town of Green Island

Contents

Historical Facts

The town and village of Green Island, New York are coextensive.

Resources

Church Records

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

The town of Green Island does not have a library but check out the Upper Hudson Library System of which Albany County is a part of, to locate the towns close to Green Island that have public libraries.

Albany Public Library
Main Library
161 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: 518-427-4300
Fax: 518-449-3386
E-mail: plweb@albanypubliclibrary.org

Genealogical Resources: Albany History Room hours differ from regular library hours. Pruyn Collection of Albany History housed in the Albany History Room of the library. Collection includes city directories, newspapers, and census records on film and online.

Societies

Albany County Historical Association[1]
9 Ten Broeck Pl.
Albany, NY 12210-2524
Phone: 518-436-9826

Central New York Genealogical Society[2]
Box 104, Calvin Station
Syracuse, New York 13205
E-mail: CNYSG@yahoo.com

Genealogical Resources: Member queries; surname research list; online resources; six meetings/year; publication: Tree Talks (At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 B2t) quarterly with annual index.

Town Clerk

Green Island Town Clerk
Julie A. Iannone
69 Hudson Ave
Green Island, NY 12183
Phone: 518-273-0661
Certified transcripts of Marriages, Deaths and Births, Genealogy Searches and Information available.

Village Clerk

Green Island Village Clerk
20 Clinton Street
Green Island, NY 12183
Phone: (518) 273-2201

Historian

Green Island Historian[3]
Ginger Hewitt
69 Hudson Avenue
Green Island, NY 12183

Town/Village Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Green Island, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

  1. "Ten Broek Mansion: Home of the Albany County Historical Association" at http://www.tenbroeckmansion.org/ (accessed 26 October 2011).
  2. Central New York Genealogical Society at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nycnygs/index.htm (accessed 1 November 2011).
  3. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md: Genealogical Publ., 2009), 370. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 April 2012, at 19:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,416 times.