Greene County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Greene County, Georgia)

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Greene County

Guide to Greene County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Greene County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Greene County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded February 3, 1786
County Seat Greensboro
Address Greene County Courthouse
113 N Main
Greensboro, GA 30642-1109
Phone: 706.453.7716
Greene County Website


County Courthouse

Greene County Courthouse
113 N Main
Greensboro, GA 30642-1109
Phone: 706.453.7716

Probate Court has marriage, death and probate records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1790, court and land records from 1785; County Health Department has birth records from 1927.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
113 N. Main Street, Suite 109
Greensboro, GA 30642
Telephone: (706) 453-3340
Fax: (706) 453-9179

Probate Court of Greene County
Greene County Courthouse
113 North Main Street, Suite 113
Greensboro, GA 30642
Telephone: 706-453-3346
Fax: 706-453-7649

Beginning Dates for Greene County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1786--Greene County was created 3 February 1786 from Washington County.
County seat: Greensboro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1787 -- In September 1787 Creek Indians burned the town and courthouse at Greensboro in retaliation for the murder of several Indians by white settlers several months before. Residents anticipated the raid and evacuated some of the country records to safety.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Hancock County  • Morgan County  • Oconee County  • Oglethorpe County  • Putnam County  • Taliaferro County

Greene CountyMorgan CountyWalton CountyNewton CountyJasper CountyPutnam CountyHancock CountyWashington CountyGlascock CountyWarren CountyTaliaferro CountyWilkes  CountyElbert  CountyMadison  CountyOglethorpe CountyOconee CountyClarke CountyJackson CountyBarrow CountyGAGreene.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

  • 1866-1875 - Greene County Colored Marriage Index 1866-1875. Batch M712965 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875-1877 - Greene County Colored Marriage Index 1875-1877. Batch M712964 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1878-1883 - Greene County Colored Marriage Index 1878-1883. Batch M712968 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.


Bethany Presbyterian Church

  • 1841-1885 - Bethany Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1841-1885. Batch C712969 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1841-1895 - Bethany Presbyterian Church Marriage Index 1841-1895. Batch M712969 at FamilySearch - free.[4]



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Greene County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Greene County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Greene County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 55th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company B
- 62nd Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) , Company D
- 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- The USGenWeb Archives Project - Georgia  (other war information given also)

  • Rice, Thaddeus Brockett. 1961. History of Greene County, Georgia, 1786-1886. Macon, Ga: J.W. Burke Co. (page 382, 289-414) 975.861 H2r
  • Bryant, Jonathan M. 1996. How curious a land: conflict and change in Greene County, Georgia, 1850-1885. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press. (page 66-89)  975.8612 H2b
  • Georgia. Superior Court (Greene County). 1980. Miscellaneous loose court papers [Greene County, Georgia]. Georgia: Georgia Dept. of Archives and History. film 1018455, 1704735 item 1



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

1811 Greene County Tax Digest (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1785-1873 - Greene County Marriage Index 1785-1873. Batch M712961 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1786-1849 - Greene County Marriage Index 1786-1849. Batch M712962 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1849-1877 - Greene County Marriage Index 1849-1877. Batch M712963 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1877-1891 - Greene County Marriage Index 1877-1891. Batch M712966 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1891-1895 - Greene County Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M712967 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Greene County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Greene County Historical Society
PO Box 238,
Greensboro, GA 30642-0238

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greene County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 34. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 4.9 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2015, at 00:59.
  • This page has been accessed 20,337 times.