Greene County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Greene County

Guide to Greene County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Greene County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 5, 1821
County Seat Bloomfield
Courthouse
Address Green County Courthouse
PO Box 229
Bloomfield, IN 47424
Phone: 812.384.8532
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1885*
1821*
1893*
1822
1823
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed January 5, 1821 from Sullivan county and unorganized territory[1]
  • County Seat: Bloomfield [2]


Neighboring Counties

Sullivan  • Clay  • Owen  • Monroe  • Lawrence  • Martin  • Daviess  • Knox

Monroe CountyMorgan CountyOrange CountyCrawford CountyDubois CountyMartin CountyDaviess CountyPike CountyGibson CountyKnox CountyVigo CountyJasper CountyCrawford CountyRichland CountyLawrence CountyEdwards CountyWabash CountyEdgar CountyClark CountyPutnam CountyClay CountySullivan CountyOwen CountyGreene CountyLawrence CountyINGreene.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Greene County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Linton

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • Caperton, Neda.Index of Names in the Sullivan County Section of History of Greene and Sullivan Counties, Indiana, 1884.( [Indianapolis]: Indiana Historical Society Library, 1972.)  977.242 H2hi FHL US/CAN  FamilySearch Books Online (History of Greene and Sullivan Counties, Indiana, 1884); FHL Collection  other library  

Land and Property

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Greene County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Greene County


Civil War Book

  • "Military History of Greence County" Chaper 8, 9, 10, in Caperton, Neda.Index of Names in the Sullivan County Section of History of Greene and Sullivan Counties, Indiana, 1884. ( [Indianapolis]: Indiana Historical Society Library, 1972.) (page 115-181, Regiment, Companies, Names),  977.242 H2hi FHL US/CAN  FamilySearch Books Online (History of Greene and Sullivan Counties, Indiana, 1884); FHL Collection  other lirary
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Green County Courthouse
 PO Box 229;
Bloomfield, IN 47424;
Phone: 812.384.8532


County Clerk has marriage, divorce and court records from 821
probate records from 1823 and naturalization records 1854-1906.
County Recorder has land records from 1824, military records
and some cemetery records. County Health Department has.
birth records from 1885 and death records from 1893. [3]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Greene County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greene_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greene County, Indiana 213 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 14,521 times.