Greene County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Greene County

Guide to Greene County Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Greene County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 2, 1833
County Seat Springfield
Courthouse
Address Greene County Courthouse
940 Boonville Avenue
Springfield, MO 65802
Phone: 417.868.4068
Greene County Website

Contents


County Courthouse


 

County  Archives and Recorder has probate, court, tax and land records from 1833,
military discharge records, divorce records 1837-1950, birth and death records
1883-1890 and 1876 local census records[1]

History

Parent County

1833--Greene County was created 2 January 1833 from Crawford County. County seat: Springfield [2]

Biographies

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Christian  • Dade  • Dallas  • Lawrence  • Polk  • Webster

Wright CountyStone CountyChristian CountyWebster CountyOzark CountyTaney CountyNewton CountyMcDonald CountyBarry CountyGreene CountyDouglas CountyLawrence CountyJasper CountyVernon CountyPolk CountyBarton CountyLaclede CountyDallas CountyCedar CountyDade CountyMOGreene.JPG


Resources

Greene County, Missouri published Greene County Archives Bulletins from at least 1988 to 1995. These bulletins included guides and indexes to several types of records for the county, including divorce records, Circuit Court records, naturalization records, coroner's record books, stray records, Alms House records, etc. A listing of the contents of these bulletins is available online. Most of the specific titles are included in the descriptions of the records under the appropriate record type below.

Many of the early records of Greene County have been microfilmed and are available through the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and its family history centers.

Cemeteries

  • The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs has burial records for Veterans Affairs National Cemeteries including Springfield National Cemetery and Missouri Veterans Cemetery in Springfield, Mo.

Individual cemeteries:

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Immaculate Conception, Springfield

  • 1872-1876 - Immaculate Conception, Springfield, Baptism Index 1872-1876. Batch C511781 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Springfield

Court

When Greene County was formed in 1833, a Circuit Court was established and has continued to the present day. Historically there were at least four other courts in Greene County[4]:

See Greene County, Missouri Court Records for a more complete description of these courts and their records.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Greene County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

History of Greene County, Missouri written and compiled from the most authentic official and private sources, including a history of its townships, towns and villages... (1883) is available online free from Google Books.

  • Richardson, M. M. A brief history of the First Baptist Church of Springfield, Missouri, 1852-1927 : and an account of the diamond jubilee October 30 to November 20, 1927. Springfield, Mo. : Elkins-Swyers Co., [1927?].
  • Fairbanks, Jonathan; Tuck, Clyde Edwin. Past and present of Greene County, Missouri, early and recent history and genealogical records of many of the representative citizens. Indianapolis, Indiana : A.W. Bowen & Co., 1915.
  • Hubble, Martin J. Personal reminiscences and fragments of the early history of Springfield and Greene County, Missouri. Springfield, Missouri : Inland Printing Co., 1914.
  • Greene County Archives and Records Center (Springfield, Missouri). Pictorial and genealogical record of Greene County, Missouri : together with biographies of prominenet men of other portions of the state, both living and dead. Chicago : Goodspeed Brothers Pub., 1893.

Maps

Mogreene.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 26th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Phineas M Savery's Attached Company
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Phineas M Savery's Attached Company
:- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company H
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company F
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company G
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company H
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company A
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company C
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company H
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), 6th Provisional Regiment Detachment
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 8th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M

Civil War Battles

The following Civil War Battles was fought in City of Greene County

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Greene County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Poorhouse

Greene County had a poor farm that was a support for ill or indigent people of the county. It was initially called the County Poor Farm, then the County Home, and in 1955 became Sunshine Acres. It was closed in 1978.

Registers of those who were cared for by this facility have been indexed for the years 1875 to 1955. The index is available online in two parts:

An Index to the Register of the Alms House, 1875-1923
An Index to the Register of the Alms House, 1916-1955

Probate

A Guide to the Records of the Probate Court of Greene County is available online as published in the County Archives Bulletins. These records, including wills, inventories, settlements, and other probate documents, are part of the records of the Circuit Court and its divisions. Many have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers.

Taxation

Tax lists have been abstracted for 1833-1835, 1843, 1851, 1856, and 1890. These can be found at the Local History & Genealogy department at The Library Center (Springfield-Greene County Library).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

The vital records kept by the courts and other offices in Greene County include documents relating to marriages, divorces, and deaths. See Greene County, Missouri Vital Records for a more complete description of these records and their indexes.

Marriages

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Research 

Local History and Genealogy Department at the Springfield-Greene County Library-- a Family History Library affiliate (order microfilm online).  

Ozarks Genealogical Society (Click on "About Us" and select "Library")

Greene County Archives has original records for public viewing. All probate loose files up to the 1960s are indexed. Naturalization records arranged alphabetically. All of the original records which have been indexed and abstracted are available here. 


Family History Centers