Greenhill, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Greenhill

Guide to Greenhill, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

GREENHILL, ahamlet, in the parish of Harrow, union of Hendon, hundred of Gore, county of Middlesex, 1 mile (N. by E.) from the town of Harrow.[1]

St John Greenhill was a district church built and in operation by 1866 lying within the civil parish boundaries of Harrow St Mary. Here's the "History" of this small church from | their website:

"For most of the last thousand years, the town of Harrow had its centre at the top of the hill, where St Mary's [ancient and civil parish] Church was consecrated in 1094. It was only in the nineteenth century that the village of Greenhill grew sufficiently—to a population of about 400—to require a church of its own, which was built on the present site in 1866. This small brick church, sometimes called the “candle snuffer” from the shape of its tower, was staffed by assistant curates from St Mary's, and in 1885 Rev. Thomas Smith (known to all as Tommy) was licensed as curate in charge of St John's. The Victoria Hall, a parish hall rather than a church hall, but with close connections with the church, was opened on the site of the shops at the west end of the church in 1888. (It was rebuilt in its present position in Sheepcote Road in 1963.) Greenhill became a separate parish in 1896, with Tommy Smith as its first vicar."

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438774.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 332-338. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 October 2014, at 19:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,871 times.