Greenhithe, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent

Guide to Greenhithe, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Greenhithe, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[2]
Greenhithe, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1857-1907
1858-1918
1925
MED 1857-1967 1858-1954 1925-1946

Greenhithe, St. Mary the Virgin baptisms 1857-1967 and marriages 1858-1954 (with burials of Greenhithe people in Swanscombe, Stone and Southfleet Churchyards and Gravesend and Dartford municipal cemeteries 1925-1946) reference P362B digital images may be searched online at Medway Archives City Ark project http://cityark.medway.gov.uk


Census records

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.See Kent Census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  2. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,819 times.