Greenwich St Alfege, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Kent go to  Kent Parishes

Guide to Greenwich, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Greenwich St Alfege, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greenwich Town
County Kent
Poor Law Union Greenwich PLU
Registration District Greenwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615; Separate registers exist for Greenwich Royal Naval Asylum beginning 1822 and for Greenwich Royal Hospital School beginning 1705
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718; Separate records exist for Greenwich Royal Naval Asylum beginning 1807 and for Greenwich Royal Hospital School beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GREENWICH, a town, a parish, and a district, in Kent. The town is suburban to London, within the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan police and the Central Criminal court; is...opposite the Isle of Dogs...5 miles southeast by east of London Bridge.[1]

Greenwich St Alfege Greenwich High Road is an Ancient Parish in North West Kent. The chapel of ease St Mary in King William Walk was part of ths parish. The chapel of ease was built in 1823 and closed in 1919 (demolished 1936) It kept no separate register.

The church dates from 1711 and was the first of the "Fifty new churches" to be built from the 1711 Act [New Churches in London and Westminster Act 1710 (9 Anne c. 17)] and was designed by Nicholas Hawksmoor.

The church has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British Listed Building

See also Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 1 (1797), pp. 372-420 at British History Online

From this parish was created East Greenwich Christ Church, Kent and Greenwich St Paul Devonshire Drive which was built 1865-1866 and formed an ecclesiastical parish in 1864 declared redundant 1984 and is now a Seventh Day Adventist church, from St Paul was formed the ecclesiastical parish of St Peter Bridge Street in 1867, the church being built in 1866, and sustained bomb damage 1941; the parish merged with this parish in 1951 and the church was demolished 1955. 

Here is A Comprehensive List of Greenwich Chapels and District Churches. These chapels and churches are all attached to and come under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of St Alfege Parish.


For a map of the Greenwich parishes fromed from this parish visit Greenwich North West Kent Family History Society and the relevant linked pages for parishes.

Westcombe Park St George, Kirkside Road, dates from 1892 Westcombe Park St George

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Greenwich St Alfege Parish

Greenwich St Alfege, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BBUR = Boyd's London Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[8]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[9][10]
FREG = FreeREG - free[11]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[12]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[13]
Greenwich St Alfege, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1615-1831 1615-1831 1615-1831 1615-1831 1615-1831 1615-1831
AC 1813-1906 1813-1906 1754-1921 1754-1921 1813-1905 1813-1905
BIVRI 1718
1718

FMP 1813-1838
1791-1842

FREG
1813
1615-1665, 1813-1849
FS BTs 1718-1719 1718-1719 1718-1719
IGI 1615-1660, 1801-1866 1615-1659, 1718-1719, 1801-1837

International Genealogical Index Christenings 1615-1660; 1801-1866 Batches (C006321, C006322, C006323, C006324, C006325) Marriages 1615-1659; 1718-1719 1801-1837 Batches (M006321, M006326)

Greenwich Croom's Hill Our Lady Star of the Sea Parish

Greenwich Croom's Hill Our Lady Star of the Sea parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[14]
Greenwich Croom's Hill Our Lady Star of the Sea Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1792-1866
1815-1856
1807
Greenwich Royal Hospital

Greenwich Royal Hospital parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Greenwich Royal Hospital Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1705-1812 1705-1812 1705-1812 1705-1812 1705-1812 1705-1812
AC 1865-1866 1865-1866
BBUR

1705-1812
BOYD
1620-1754

IGI 1720-1864 1724-1754

Greenwich Royal Hospital 1720-1856 Christenings Batch (C020002)

Royal Hospital Bishops Transcripts Christenings 1813-1838; 1865-1869 (50%) Batch (P020001)

Royal Hospital School Christenings 1822-1864 Batches (C056121, C056122)

Nonconformists
  • George Street Wesleyan Chapel Christenings 1821-1837 Batch (C068361)
  • Greenwich Road Newchapel 1777-1857 Christenings Batch (C068341)
  • Maize Hill Independent 1811-1837 Christenings Batch (C068351)

Land Tax

Images for Greenwich are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306881.


Kent Census 

Poor Law Unions

Greenwich Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870)
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Alfege in Greenwich Borough. Described as Greenwich Hospital in Greenwich Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Greenwich St Alphege in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Greenwich St Alphege in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Greenwich St Alphege in Greenwich Borough. Described as Greenwich Hospital, Romney Road, Greenwich in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  7. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  8. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  10. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  11. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  12. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  13. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  14. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:28.
  • This page has been accessed 9,124 times.