Greetham, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.pngRutland Parishes

Guide to Greetham, Rutland family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Greetham, Rutland
St+Mary Greetham Rutland.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alstoe
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham PLU
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office



Contents

Parish History

GREETHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of Alstoe, county of Rutland, 6 miles (N. E.) from Oakham. [1]

Additional information:

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Greetham like this:

GREETHAM, a village and a parish in Oakham district, Rutland. The village stands on an affluent of the river Gwash, 3¼ miles E of the Melton Mowbray canal, 4 NNW of Empingham, and 6 NE of Oakham r. station.

The Victoria County History of Greetham (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office.

Diocese of Peterborough : Greetham Bap 1576 - 1709; 1729 - 1945 Marr 1576 - 1709; 1729 - 1975 (Banns to1983) Bur 1576 - 1709; 1729 - 1977


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,017 times.