Grendon Bishop, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Grendon, Herefordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Grendon Bishop, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Grendon Bishop, Herefordshire
Grendon Bishop St John the Baptist Herefordshire.jpg
Grendon Bishop St John the Baptist Herefordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxash
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Bromyard PLU
Registration District Bromyard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRENDON BISHOP, a parish in Bromyard district, Hereford; gear the Bromyard and Leominster railway, 4 miles WNW of Bromyard. [1]

GRENDON, BISHOP (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Bromyard, hundred of Broxash, county of Hereford, 4¼ miles (W. N. W.) from Bromyard. It is intersected by the road from Leominster to Bromyard, and consists of 1588 acres. [2]

Grendon Bishop St John the Baptist is an Ecclesiastical Parish created in 1739 from a former chapelry in Bromyard, Herefordshire Ancient Parish.

The church which dates from 1787-1788 with Victorian restoration has been designated a a grade C listed building by English Heritage British listed building.

The church is no longer open.

The united benefice of Grendon Bishop and Wacton now serves the congregation.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to Family History Catalogue for Grendon Bishop

Grendon

Census records

See Herefordshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal: Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901

Poor Law Unions

Bromyard Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/GrendonBishop/index.html

References

  1. John Marius Wilson grendon bishop Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Adapted: 29 Jan 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 338-340. Accessed and adapted 7 August, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 November 2014, at 01:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,895 times.