Gresham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Gresham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Gresham, Norfolk
Gresham All Saints.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham PLU
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Repps
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRESHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of North Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 5¼ miles (S. W. by W.) from Cromer. [1]


Gresham All Saints is an Ancient Parish in Repps deanery of the Diocese of Norwich. A Norman Round tower church with substantial 19th century renovations.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974
  • The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
    Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail: registration.nwalsham@norfolk.gov.uk

Church records

Gresham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[11]
Gresham, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1690-1812

FREG 1562-1711, 1725-1904
1570-1713, 1734-1754, 1813-1900
1559-1713, 1734-1900
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1713, 1734-1895 Undefined 1559-1713, 1734-1902 Undefined 1559-1713, 1734-1904
IGI 1559-1783 1559-1751
JOIN
1690-1812

NTA 1813-1895


PALL
1790-1812

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 81/1-8,12

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438853.

Poor Law Unions

Erpingham      http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/erpingham_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 338-340 Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  9. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  11. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,283 times.