Gressingham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Gressingham, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gressingham, Lancashire
St John's Church, Gressingham.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Caton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1710
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

GRESSINGHAM (St John the Evangelist), a chapelry, in the parish of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 8 miles northeast of Lancaster. It was in operation by 1676, when its chapel registers commence. It was partly rebuilt in 1734, and restored by Edward Paley in 1862. Other places in the parish include: Eskrigg.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Gressingham chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


GRESSINGHAM ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1676) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1676-1888 1691-1835  1676-1859
LOPC 1676-1812 1691-1828 1676-1930
LBMD  None 1838-2000 None
FMP None 1691-1835 None
AC 1676-1828 1676-1828 1676-1828
LANCASTER ST MARY'S PARISH (1599) Indexes (ancient parish containing GRESSINGHAM Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1886 1599-1812  None
LOPC 1749-1900 1599-1900 1749-1881
LBMD None 1837-1998 None 
AC 1559-1748 1559-1748 1559-1748


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Gressingham and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LANCASTER ST MARY PARISH page.


Gressingham- St John the Evangelist
Baptisms Transcript-1676-1812- 929.3272 C25
Burials Transcript-1678-1812- 929.3272 C25
Marriages Transcript-1691-1828- 929.3272 C25

For original registers of above please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936.



Poor Law Unions

Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 338-340. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,265 times.