Gringley on the Hill, NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Gringley on the Hill, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Gringley on the Hill, Nottinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||East Retford PLU|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor of Gringley-on-the-Hill or Bawtry|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
GRINGLEY-on-the-Hill (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of East Retford, NorthClay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 6 miles (E. S. E.) from Bawtry. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.
Gringley-on-the-Hill St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.
The history of this parish is being researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project Gringley on the Hill
The Parish church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building
Monumental Inscriptions: of Beckingham Church Yard, Gringley on the Hill 1777-1993, - then inside the Gringley on the Hill Church the Memorials date from 1787-1960. Article has a Surname Index. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 132, pages 1-38, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Gringley on the Hill, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|GREASLEY PARISH Online Records|
Gringley on the Hill St Peter and St Paul
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1682-1921 Marriages 1682-1960 Burials 1678-1901 Bishop’s Transcripts 1627-1842
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Gringley on the Hill
Monumental Inscriptions: of Beckingham Church Yard, Gringley on the Hill, Walkeringham - ranging from 1777-1993, then inside the Gringley on the Hill Church they date from 1787-1960. . Article has a Surname Index. and is to be found in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 132, pages 1-38, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Gringley on the Hill (Gringley Super Montem) in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/GringleyontheHill/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 16 January 2015, at 00:58.
- This page has been accessed 1,473 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More