Griston, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Griston, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wayland
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wayland PLU
Registration District Wayland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1652
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Breckles
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRISTON (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wayland, W. division of Norfolk, 2 miles (S. E.) from Watton.[1]

Griston St Peter and Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The medieval church was renovated by the Victorians who replaced the orignial hammer beam roof. Recent discovery of the angels from this roof will lead to restoration.

The village is close to nearby H.M. Prison Wayland and RAF Watton airfield operated by the USAAF.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Wayland 1837-1974

Church records

Griston, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Griston, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1812
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1602-1812 1602-1812 1602-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
NBI

1813-1876

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library. Norfolk Record Office reference PD 159/1-6
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content Film
Baptisms and burials 1602-1609, 1623-1630, 1665-1812 Marriages 1602-1609, 1623-1630, 1665-1811 FHL BRITISH Film
1526739 Item 3

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438867.


http://apling.freeservers.com/1891Census/Griston.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

Wayland Poor Law Union    

 For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Wayland/Wayland.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 344-347. Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,254 times.