Grove, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Grove, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Grove, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Parish History

Grove, Nottinghamshire
Grove St Helen Nottinghamshire.jpg
Grove St Helen Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union East Retford
Registration District East Retford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1726
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

GROVE (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of East Retford, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (E. S. E.) from East Retford.[1]

Additional information:

Grove is an Ancient parish in Nottinghamshire, the present church replaced an earlier church on the site. See St Helen's Church Grove Wikipedia for a history of the site and current churches within the united benefice.

The church of St Helen Main Street Grove was built in 1882 by Hodgson Fowler and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

see Grove Nottinghamshire Wikipedia


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667

Church records

Grove, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Grove, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Grove St Helen

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1726-1904 Marriages 1726-1902 Burials 1726-1906 Bishop’s Transcripts 1601-1836
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Grove

Grove - St Helen.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions inside and outside the church, dating from 1768, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.87, pages 8-10, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

Nottinghamshire Census


Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Grove in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 21 January 2015.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 November 2015, at 00:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,592 times.