Grundy County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Illinois Gotoarrow.png Grundy County

Guide to Grundy County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Grundy County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Grundy County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 17, 1841
County Seat Morris
Courthouse
Grundy County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Grundy County Courthouse
111 East Washington Street
Morris, Illinois 60450
Grundy County Website

Contents

County Organization

Grundy County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Grundy County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1876
1841
1878
1850
1832
1841

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Grundy County are kept, see the Grundy County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Felix Grundy.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Attorney General Felix Grundy (1777-1840).[1]

Parent County

1841--Grundy County was created 17 February 1841 from La Salle County.
County seat: Morris [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1831-1841 LaSalle

Southeastern Part

1826-1831 Vermilion
1823-1826 Edgar
1819-1823 Clark

Southwestern part

1827-1831 Tazewell
1821-1826 Fayette

North of Illinois River

1825-1831 Putnam
1823-1825 Fulton
1821-1823 Pike
1819-1823 Clark
1816-1819 Crawford
1915-1816 Edwards
1812-1815 Madison
1801-1812 St. Clair
1790-1801 Knox, Northwest territory


Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Coal City, Diamond, Gardner, Minooka, Morris, Braceville, Mazon, and South Wilmington

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Grundy County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Grundy County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries,names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Grundy County and links to the  information for the individuals buried there.
  • Grundy Co. IL USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
  • Illinois Cemeteries by county.
  • There may be some books that list records of cemeteries in Clinton County on Google Books or available at public libraries.
  • ePodunk list of Grundy County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18505,681
18609,39365.3%
187012,65234.7%
188016,12927.5%
189017,1386.3%
190024,13640.8%
191024,1620.1%
192018,580−23.1%
193018,6780.5%
194018,398−1.5%
195019,2174.5%
196022,35016.3%
197026,53518.7%
198030,58215.3%
199032,3375.7%
200037,53516.1%
201050,06333.4%
For tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

Church Records

Presbyterian Church Records, Morris Illinois. by Patricia Dewey Sanders WorldCat

Communion Roll, Members, Baptisms and Marriages for the Records of Morris Presbyerian Church. by Patricia Dewey Sanders  WorldCat

St. Mary's Catholic Church Records 1869-1919. by Betty Steffes Kinsella  WorldCat

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Grundy County edition. This includes several sections on Grundy County churches. Explore both the township sections for local churches, and beginning on page 730 an overview of many churches found in Grundy County. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

1846-1963 Circuit Court Case Files IRAD-ISU Search for Grundy County. How to use IRAD

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

  • 1832-1902 Mixed Land Records, original records in the Grundy County Courthouse. 43 films. FHL Film 1412206 first film

Online Resources

Maps

Ilgrundy.jpg

Military Records

For information about using Military records see Illinois Military Records

Revolutionary War

Veterans Burials   (Source: Genealogy Trails History Group)

War of 1812

Military Land Grants in Grudy County Illinois for Soldiers of the War of 1812 - (Source: USGenWeb)

Indian Wars

Military Land Grants in Grundy County Illinois for Soldiers of the Indian Wars - (Source: USGenWeb)

Civil War

Civil War service men from Grundy County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Grundy County.

-1st Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H. (Also Known as Centralia Cavalry)
- 11th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3months) Company F.
- 36th_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company G.
- 53rd_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company B.
- 55th_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company I.
- 69th Regiment, Illinois Infantry , Company I.
- 76th_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company C.
- 91st_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company D.
-127th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
-128th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
-138th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.


Civil War Companies Organized in Grundy County, Illinois

Illinois Military Units in the Civil War, Published by Civil War Centennial Commission of Illinois, Springfield, 1962.

Confederate Soldiers Buried in Grundy County. (Source: Genealogy Trails History Group)

World War I

World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 (Source: FamilySearch and Ancestry)

World War II

Army Enlistees names Adams - Lynes   (Source: USGenWeb )

Army Enlistees names Mack - Zingre    (Source: USGenWeb )

Casualties (Source: Genealogy Trails History Group)

Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

Newspapers

Newspapers Published in Grundy County  (Source: Illinois Newspaper Project)

Chronicling America  Grundy County (Source: The Library of Congress)

Grundy, Will, La Salle and Kendall Counties: 1840-1879 Deaths, Marriages, Births as Extracted from Area Newspapers. by Becki Leucht. FHL Film 795992 item 2 or Book 977.32 V2L

Obituaries and Funeral Home Records

Illinois Obiturary Project  (Source: USGenWeb Illinois Archives)

Morris Daily Herald March 2006-Current (Source: Genealogy Bank and Ancestry) both ($) 

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for Grundy County.

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Grundy County are kept, see the Grundy County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Grundy County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Archives and Libraries

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Illinois State Universtiy (ISU)
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027

Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County

Public Libraries

Social Groups Online

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Birth

The original Grundy County birth records 1877-1905 are housed at the County Clerk office. The following copies are available:

1877-1893 Birth Record Index IRAD-ISU Search for Grundy County Records. How to use IRAD. Availabel through the Family History Library FHL Film 1415754 Item 2

1877-1905 Birth Records IRAD-ISU  Available throught the Family History Library FHL Film 1415754 Items 3-4.

Marriage

The original Grundy County marriage records 1841- 1923 are housed at the County courthouse. The following copies are available:

1841-1903 Marriage Records Index IRAD-ISU Search for Grundy County Records. How to use IRAD. Available through the Family History Library FHL Film 1415755 Item 4

1841-1923 Marriage Records IRAD-ISU FHL Films 1415755-1415756 Items 1-6.

1763-1900 Statewide Marriage Index

Death

The original Grundy County marriage records 1847-1901 are housed at the County Courthouse. The following copies are available:

1878-1904 Death Record Index IRAD-ISU Search for Grundy County Records. How to use IRAD. Available through Family History Library FHL Collection Item 1

1878-1901 Death Record IRAD-ISU. Available through Family History Library FHL 525203 Items 2-3

Online Resources

Pre-1916 Death Index

1916-1950 Statewide Death Index

Voter Registration

Places / Localities

Web Sites

Databases Pertinent to Grundy County


Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois

References

  1. "Felix Grundy," Wikipedia.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 194. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:15.
  • This page has been accessed 15,405 times.