Grundy County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Grundy County

Guide to Grundy County Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Grundy County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1841
County Seat Trenton
Courthouse
Address Grundy County Courthouse
700 Main Street
Trenton, MO 64683
Phone: 660.359.6305
Grundy County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth and death records 1881-1890;
County Recorder has marriage, divorce and land records;
Probate office has probate records[1]

History

Felix Grundy.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Attorney General Felix Grundy (1777-1840).[2]

Link about Centennial history of Grundy County, Missouri, 1839-1939

Parent County

1841--Grundy County was created 29 January 1841 from Livingston County. County seat: Trenton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Daviess  • Harrison  • Linn  • Livingston  • Mercer  • Sullivan

Grundy CountyMercer CountyMacon CountyLinn CountyChariton CountySullivan CountyAdair CountyPutnam CountyLivingston CountyDaviess CountyCaldwell CountyClinton CountyDeKalb CountyGentry CountyWorth CountyHarrison CountyRinggold CountyDecatur CountyAppanoose CountyWayne CountyMOGrundy1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Hickory Creek

  • 1874 - Catholic Church, Hickory Creek, Baptism Index 1874. Batch C511641 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

St. Joseph, Trenton

  • 1872-1876 - St. Joseph, Trenton, Baptism Index 1872-1876. Batch C511501 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1870-1882 - St. Joseph, Trenton, Marriage Index 1870-1882. Batch M511501 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Index to selected court records of Grundy County, Missouri

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grundy County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

The History of Grundy County, Missouri an encyclopedia of useful information, and a compendium... (1881) is available online free from Google Books.

  • Ford, James Everett. A history of Grundy County : treating of its transformation from the heart of the wilderness of yesterday to the heart of the mighty nation of today; a tribute to the pioneer and something of the men who are making the Grundy County of tomorrow. Trenton, Mo. : News Pub., 1908.

Maps

Mogrundy.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 30th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 30th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 30th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 30th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 30th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 30th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grundy County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1847-1873 - Grundy County Birth Index 1847-1873. Batch C546511 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1847-1893 - Grundy County Birth Index 1847-1893. Batch C546512 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1867 - Grundy County Birth Index 1867. Batch C515132 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Grundy County Birth Index 1875. Batch C515131 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers