GuamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Guam

Guide to Guam ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

News and Events
Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Guam flag.png

Located approximately 3,300 miles West of Hawaii, 1,500 miles East of the Philippines, and 1,550 miles South of Japan, the Island of Guam is the Western most territory of the United States. Guam is truly a tropical island paradise. Approximately 30 miles long and 4 to 9 miles wide, the Northern end of Guam is a plateau of rolling hills and cliffs rising to 600 feet above sea level. Waterfalls, rivers and bays abound throughout Guam's central and southern areas.

Getting started with Guam research

Jurisdictions

Guam is a territory of the United States.  The capital city is Hagatna (formerly Agana).

Research Tools

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Guam, Land Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:



Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:

Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

Did you know?

  • The first census in Guam was taken in 1710 when it was still a possession of Spain. The government of Spain took 20 additional censuses from 1710 through 1897. The 1897 census index, The Patron de Almas: Año de 1897, is online on the Micronesian Area Research Center (MARC) website.
  • Other helpful resources include:
  • Guam Land Records, available at FamilySearch
  • 1920 U. S. Census
  • 1930 U. S. Census
  • JAG Files of the Pacific, available at Fold3

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:31.
  • This page has been accessed 9,787 times.