Guernsey County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Guernsey County

Guide to Guernsey County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Guernsey County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Guernsey County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Oh-guernsey-ch.jpg
Address Guernsey County
Administration Building
801 E. Wheeling Ave
Cambridge, Ohio 43725
Guernsey County Website

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1810
1867
1802
1812
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Belmont and Muskingum Counties 31 January 1810.[1]
  • County Seat: Cambridge

Neighboring Counties

Tuscarawas County  • Harrison County  • Belmont County  • Noble County  • Muskingum County  • Coshocton County


Guernsey CountyMuskingum CountyMorgan CountyNoble CountyWashington CountyMonroe CountyBelmont CountyHarrison CountyCoshocton CountyHolmes CountyTuscarawas CountyCarroll CountyJefferson CountyPerry CountyOHGuernsey.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

There is a list of biographies and biographical sketches on the Family History Library CATALOG. Some of the books have digital versions and and some are on film. Films can be ordered online and viewed at the local FamilySearch Center.

Business Records and Commerce

Family History Library CATALOG lists a book about peddlers licences and fees on film that can be ordered online and viewed at the local FamilySearch Center. Other records may be added in the future.

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Family History Library CATALOG 1850

Family History Library CATALOG 1880 Index

Family History Library CATALOG 1900 Index

Family History Library CATALOG 1910 Index

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

FamilySearch Catalog Church History

FamilySearch Catalog Church Records

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Guernsey County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Family History Library CATALOG

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

African American

Snider, Wayne L. Guernsey County's Black Pioneers, patriots, and Persons. - Columbus : Ohio Historical Society, 1979. FHL 977.192 F2s

Family History Library CATALOGBlack Pioneers

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Family History Library CATALOG Genealogies

Family History Library CATALOG Indexes

Family History Library CATALOG Societies

Family History Library CATALOG Societies - Indexes

Family History Library CATALOG Societies - Periodicals

Guardianship

Family History Library CATALOG

History

Local histories are available for Guernsey County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. Family History Library CATALOG

Land and Property - Maps

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Guernsey County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohguernsey.jpg

Family History Library CATALOG

Military

  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Guernsey County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Guernsey County.
- 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company B, also known as "Laughlin's Cavalry"
- 97th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and B

Family History Library CATALOG

Family History Library CATALOG Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Family History Library CATALOG

Newspapers

Guernsey County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts

  • various years - Newspaper articles Clippings, articles and stories of Guernesy County. Courtesy OhioGenWeb


Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Family History Library CATALOG Indexes

Obituaries

Pensions

Family History Library CATALOG

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Guernsey County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Guernsey County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

Family History Library CATALOG

Family History Library CATALOG Indexes

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Guernsey County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Guernsey County Courhouse
801 Wheeling Avenue
Cambridge, OH 43725-2335
Phone: 740.432.9230 

Clerk Court has divorce records from 1850 and court records
from 1810; Probate Judge has birth, marriage, and probate
records;  County Recorder has land records City-County Health
Department has death records[1]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Guernsey County, Ohio is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

  • 1800–1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. Name index of tax records as recorded with the County Auditor of each county. Entries are recorded in voucher books, one person per page. The majority of the tax records in this collection are for the years 1816 through 1838. Currently (September 2012) this collection is 17% complete. Additional records will be added as they are completed.

Family History Library CATALOG Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Guernsey County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Guernsey County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Guernsey County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Guernsey County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records
Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Family History Library CATALOG

Family History Library CATALOG Indexes

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Guernsey County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Web Sites

Places

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 July 2014, at 05:53.
  • This page has been accessed 17,972 times.