Guestling, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Guestling, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guestling, Sussex
Guestling St Laurence East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guestling
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hastings PLU
Registration District Hastings
Records begin
Parish registers: 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GUESTLING (St. Andrew), a parish, in the hundred of Guestling, union and rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 3¾ miles (W. S. W.) from Winchelsea.[1]

Guestling St Laurence is an Ancient Parish.

history and images The church of St Laurence has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Guestling Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Guestling Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Guestling, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Guestling, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1686-2001

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Guestling

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157. The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Hastings Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 348-360. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,246 times.