Guestwick, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England   Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to FGuestwick, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Guestwick, Norfolk
Guestwick St Peter.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynsford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GUESTWICK (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 2½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Foulsham. The Independents have a place of worship. [1]

Guestwick St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Guestwick is a village [ and a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. The village is 19.6 miles (31.5 km) south-west of Cromer, 18.7 miles (30.1 km) north-west of Norwich and 131 miles (211 km) north-east of London. The village lies 10.2 miles west of the nearby town of Aylsham. The village lies far from any major roads.

For the purpose of local government the civil parish is within the Broadland district.

The tower is part of the old Saxon church on the site; the remainder of the church was rebuilt in the 15th century and has subsequently been renovated.

In the Domesday Book, Guestwick is mentioned but as the settlement of Guistthwaithe and is described as an area of pasture land used by the people of the nearby village of Guist. By the beginning of the 11th century it has been recorded that the settlement had its own church and so had become independent.

Non-Conformist Chapel History

Guestwick Chapel contributor Zorba the Geek.jpg

To the north of the church can be found the Guestwick's Congregational Chapel at Guestwick which is one of the earliest in England. It was built in 1652 but has been altered in 1809 and again in 1840. The one time minister John Godwin was the father of the political philosopher William Godwin and the grandfather of Mary Godwin who became Mary Shelley who is best known for her Gothic novel Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus (1818).

The original timber framed chapel was replaced by the surviving brick built building which is now a private house.

See also Guestwick Chapel on Norfolk Churches =

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Church of England Records

Guestwick, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = Template:RecordSearch&[3]
FS BTs = Template:RecordSearch&[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Guestwick, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1812
1732-1811
1606-1811
FS ATs {{RecordSearch|1824688|1600-1812}} {{RecordSearch|1824688|1600-1812}} {{RecordSearch|1824688|1600-1812}}
FS BTs {{RecordSearch|1823613|Undefined}} {{RecordSearch|1823613|Undefined}} {{RecordSearch|1823613|Undefined}} {{RecordSearch|1823613|Undefined}} {{RecordSearch|1823613|Undefined}} {{RecordSearch|1823613|Undefined}}
NBI

1813-1949

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 5/ 1-4, 50

This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1600-1610, 1624-1634, 1665-1737, 1754-1811 Marriages 1600-1610, 1624-1633, 1665-1737, 1754-1812 Burials 1600-1610, 1624-1633, 1665-1737, 1755-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526782 Item 2

Non-Conformist Church Records

Church records for Guestwick Congregational Church, 1694-1854 Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich, England.

Norfolk Record Office reference: FC 11/1. Guestwick Church Book, 1694-1854 With account of the congregation from 1652 and lists of members, record of births.

Baptisms and deaths, 1694-1854. FHL BRITISH Film 2299708 Item 2

Births, baptisms and burials at the Independent united congregations at Briston and Grestwick, Norfolk, 1786-1840

Microfilm of original records at the London Public Record Office, London.
RG-4 series no. 1344

see also

England Nonconformist Index for RG 4-8 (Record Groups 4-8)

England Nonconformist Index for RG 4-8 (Record Groups 4-8) (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438853.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 348-360. Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,304 times.