Guilden Sutton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Guilden Sutton

Guide to Guilden Sutton, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.St. Mary and All Saints

Contents

Parish History

Guilden Sutton, Cheshire
St John's Church Guilden Sutton.jpg
St John's Church Guilden Sutton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

SUTTON, GUILDEN, is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 3 miles (E. N. E.) from Chester.[1]

St John the Baptist's Church, Guilden Sutton is in the village of Guilden Sutton, near Chester, Cheshire and is an ancient parish in Cheshire.

Guilden Sutton is a civil parish and village in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church records

Guilden Sutton St John the Evangelist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Guilden Sutton St John the Evangelist Parish (1595) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1602-1855   NONE
1605-1855
  NONE
1602-1855
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The registers of St. John the Baptist's Church, Guilden-Sutton, Cheshire, England : burials, 1595-1880, marriages, 1661-1880, christenings, 1645-1781 Forms part of the Norman Collection compiled by Bertram William Tuff Norman.

Transcript available Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Christenings  1645-1781 Marriages 1661-1880 Burials 1595-1880 BRITISH
823619 Item 1

Registers of Baptisms 1595–1932, Marriages 1595–1967 and Burials 1595–1952 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office

Bishop's transcripts for Guilden-Sutton, 1602-1855 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 98.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop’s transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1602, 1855. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1605, 1608-1609, 1613-1614, 1616, 1618, 1622-1625, 1627, 1629, 1631, 1637, 1641, 1666, 1670-1672, 1674-1675, 1677-1685, 1696, 1698-1699, 1701-1705, 1715-1718, 1721, 1723, 1725, 1727-1739, 1742, 1744-1753, 1758-1760, 1762-1810, 1812-1826, 1828-1854. BRITISH
1655826 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

Guilden Sutton, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1873.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

  • Great Boughton (1837–71)
  • Tarvin (1871–1930) [[Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samul A. A Topgraphical dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 230, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 20:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,127 times.