Gulval, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Gulval, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gulval, Cornwall
Gulval St Gulval contributor Tony Atkin.jpg
Gulval St Gulval contributor Tony Atkin
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GULVAL (St. Gulval), a parish, in the union of Penzance, W. division of the hundred of Penwith and of the county of Cornwall, 1½ mile (N. E.) from Penzance. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]


Gulval (Cornish: Lannyskli) St Wolvela is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Carfury and Gear.
The parish is named after the 6th century saint, Gulval, the original form of which was probably Welvela or Wolvela. Baring-Gould thought this was Wilgitha, the sister of Saint Juthwara: David Nash Ford agrees. Gilbert Hunter Doble, however, favoured an identification with one of the male Welsh missionaries, Gudwall or Gurwall who are honoured in Brittany. A life of each one is to be found in the Acta Sanctorum, June; Bollandists, 1867. Neither identification has been widely accepted by modern scholars. The parish church is dedicated to Gulval and his/her feast is celebrated on 6 June "St Gulval". http://west-penwith.org.uk/gulval3.htm.

The current church building is predominantly 12th century with subsequent additions. Most notable of these are the tower, built in 1440 and containing eight bells and a large stone lych gate that was added in 1897 to celebrate Queen Victoria's Jubilee. The graveyard is famously home to the remains of local pirate and smuggler John 'Eyebrows' Thomas of Marazion, as well as to William Wingfield, MP

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Gulval, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[5]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[6][7][8]
FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
GOOG = Google Books - free[11]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[13]
Gulval, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1883-1906


BOYD
1598-1812

COPC 1599-1913
1598-1911
1601-1913
CPRI 1813-1886
1813-1905
1700-1900
FMP 1600-1875 1598-1837 1690-1837
FREG 1701-1842
1686-1772, 1813-1906
1701-1900, 1962-2010
FS PRs 1598-1886 1598-1906 1598-1900, 1962-2010
GOOG 1598-1812 1598-1812 1598-1812
IGI 1599-1842, 1871-1875 1598-1876
PALL
1800-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall County Record Office reference P 77

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Gulval.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241264.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Penzance Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to filnd the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazeteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Gulval in GENUKI

http://www.cornwalls.co.uk/photos/img3224.htm    http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/331181 for images of the church

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 348-360. Date accessed: 13 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  5. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  6. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  10. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  11. George Bown Millett and William Bolitho, eds., The Parish Registers of Gulval (alias Lanisley) in the County of Cornwall (1598-1812) (Penzance: Beare and Son, 1893). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  12. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  13. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Bibliography

  • Doble, G. H. (1960) The Saints of Cornwall: part 1. Truro: Dean and Chapter; pp. 61-78
  • Doble, G. H. (1933) Saint Gudwal or Gurwal, bishop and confessor; with notes on Gulval church and parish by Charles Henderson. Truro: Netherton and Worth
  • See the discussion and bibliography in Elisabeth Okasha, Corpus of early Christian inscribed stones of South-west Britain. Leicester: University Press, 1993, pp. 109-15
  • Thorn, Caroline & Frank [eds.] "Domesday Book: Cornwall"; Phillimore, Chichester: 1979. ISBN 0-85033-155-2; entry 2,10

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,910 times.