Gwennap, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Gwennap, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gwennap, Cornwall
Gwennap Parish Church St Wennapa.jpg
Gwennap Parish Church St Wennapa
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GWENNAP (St. Wenap), a parish, in the union of Redruth, E. division of the hundred of Kerrier, W. division of Cornwall, 8 miles (E.) from Truro. There are places of worship for Baptists, Bryanites, and Wesleyans.[1]

Gwennap St Wennepa is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Carharrack, Crofthandy, and Frogpool.

Gwennap Pit where John Wesley preached 18 times between 1762 and 1789, although Gwennap Pit is to the north west at the hamlet of Busveal near St. Day. The pit was caused by mining subsidence in the mid-eighteenth century. After Wesley's death the local people turned the pit into a regular circular shape with turf seats.

The parish church is an old foundation but was rebuilt in the 15th century and then thoroughly restored in the 19th century. The tower is detached. According to Charles Henderson "few Cornish churches are less interesting than Gwennap"[Cornish Church Guide (1925); pp. 105-06]


Gwennap Pit, Busveal .jpg



Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Gwennap, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Gwennap, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1610-1812

COPC 1658-1891
1660-1812, 1823-1911
1658-1812, 1830-1900
FMP 1674-1961 1610-1837 1813-1837
FREG
1560-1812

FS PRs 1658-1891 1658-1901 1658-1993
IGI 1674-1772
PALL
1790-1812

Overview, Include informaton for parish registers and Bishop's Transcripts, Contact information for the office holding the orginial records, Links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing film numbers in their collection.

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 79

Incorrect waypoints for St Day have been reported to engineers for future correction St Day references are P47/1/1-3

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/e_g/gwennap.php Sandra Pritchard also maintains her website http://gwennap-opc.com/index.html with transcriptions of the parish


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241260.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdication over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 360-362. Date accessed: 13 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,629 times.