Habersham County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Habersham County, Georgia)

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Habersham County

Guide to Habersham County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Habersham County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Habersham County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 15, 1818
County Seat Clarkesville
Address Habersham County Courthouse
555 Monroe Street #35
Clarkesville, GA 30523-0227
Phone: 706.754.6264
Habersham County Website


County Courthouse

Habersham County Courthouse
555 Monroe Street #35
Clarkesville, GA 30523-0227
Phone: 706.754.6264

Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1819 along with birth and death records from 1940. Clerk Superior Court has divorce, Court and land records, from 1819.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
295 Llewellyn Street, Suite 110
Clarkesville, GA 30523
Telephone: (706) 839-0300
Fax: (706) 839-6351

Probate Court of Habersham County
P.O. Box 876
Clarkesville, GA 30523
Telephone: 706-754-2013
Fax: 706-754-5093

Beginning Dates for Habersham County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1818--Habersham County was created 15 December 1818 from Cherokee Indian lands.
County seat: Clarkesville[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1923 The courthouse at Clarkesville burned the night of 1-2 December 1923. The record vault saved most of the county's records.[3]

Although the first will book was lost in the 1923 fire, the reason several other probate records are missing is uncertain.[3]

Habersham County estate inventories start in 1863; and probate bonds begin in 1881.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Banks County  • Hall County  •

Rabun  • Stephens County  • Towns County  • White County

Habersham CountyRabun CountyTowns CountyUnion CountyFannin CountyGilmer CountyWhite CountyLumpkin CountyDawson CountyPickens CountyCherokee CountyForsyth CountyHall CountyJackson CountyBanks CountyStephens CountyFranklin CountyMadison CountyHart CountyElbert CountyOconee CountyPickens CountyGreenville CountyAnderson CountyAbbeville CountyGAHabersham.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Habersham County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War
  • Ledford, Karen Ann Thompson. These Men Wore Grey Genealogical, Military, and Interment Records of Confederate Soldiers. (Toccoa, Georgia : K.T. Ledford, c1998-c2001), 7 Volumes. Each volume contains bibliographical references and full-name index. Contents: v. 1. Franklin County -- v. 2. Habersham County --v. 3. Stephens County -- v. 4. Rabun County --v. 5. White County -- v. 6. Banks County -- v. 7. Jackson County. Book found at FHL 975.8 V3L and Other Libraries.

Regiments. Service men in Habersham County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Habersham County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 16th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 24th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 52nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 65th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies I and K
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project  (other war information given also)

  • Ledford, Karen Ann Thompson. 1998. These men wore grey: genealogical, military, and interment records of Confederate soldiers. Toccoa, Georgia: K.T. Ledford. (v.2 page 93-170)  975.8 V3L
  • Kimzey, Herbert B., and Nancy Kimzey Dempsey. 1988. Early genealogical & historical records: Habersham County, Georgia. [Athens, Ga.?]: N.K. Dempsey. (page 503)  975.8272 H2d v1-2
  • Daughters of the American Revolution. Tomochichi Chapter (Georgia). 1972. Miscellaneous records of Habersham Co., Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 907986 item 3



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Habersham County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1868-1895 - Habersham County Marriage Index 1868-1895. Batch M712991 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
  • 1859-60, 1869-70 - Habersham County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Habersham County Historical Society
228 North Main St.
Cornelia, GA 30531

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Habersham County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 35. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2015, at 01:10.
  • This page has been accessed 14,116 times.