Hacheston, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Contents

Parish History

HACHESTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Plomesgate, hundred of Loes, E. division of Suffolk, 6 miles (N. N. E.) from Woodbridge. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Hacheston and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Hacheston was in Plomesgate district. To search an index of Plomesgate district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Hacheston, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Hacheston, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1814-1837
BOYD
1538-1812

IGI 1813-1869 1538-1837
NBI

1538-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Suffolk Census

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Hacheston was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 400 times.