Hackford with Whitwell, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Hackford with Whitwell, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Hackford with Whitwell, Norfolk
Hackford St. Mary Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynsford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HACKFORD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk; comprising the principal part of the town of Reepham. The living is a discharged rectory, with the vicarage of Whitwell united. [1]


Hackford with Whitwell St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Sparham deanery of the  diocese of Norwich.
Other places in the parish include: Whitwell.It should not be confised with Hackford, Norfolk  All Saints in the Forehoe deanery.

The mediaeval church was restored in the 1880's by Diocesan architect Hubert Green.

The parish is sometimes referred to as Hackford cum Whitwell or Hackford juxta Reepham (Hackford near Reepham)

Entrres in the Family History catalogue are for Hackford-by-Reepham; the Norfolk Record Office deposited records are catalogued as Parish Records of Hackford with Whitwell.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hackford with Whitwell, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Hackford with Whitwell, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1584-1901
1559-1900
1559-1900
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1901 Undefined 1559-1773, 1813-1901 Undefined 1559-1901
NBI

1813-1857
TIN 1813-1880


Whitwell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WHITWELL PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1900
1559-1907
1559-1907
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1783, 1813-1887 Undefined 1559-1903 Undefined 1559-1908
JOIN
1813-1836

NBI

1704-1908
PRTS 1559-1783, 1813-1887
1559-1900
1559-1638, 1657-1783, 1813-1900

The parish of Hackford St Mary is sometimes referred to as Hackford juxta Whitwell and also by the title Hackford near Reepham in the Family History library catalogue to distinguish it from Hackford All Saints Hackford, Norfolk

Norfolk Record Office  Parish Records of Hackford with Whitwell reference PD 441

Parish registers
Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Item 10 Baptisms 1584-1682 Marriages 1559-1647, 1660-1679 Burials 1559-1653, 1660-1682 Item 11 Baptisms, marriages, burials 1681-1773 Item 12 Baptisms and burials 1773-1812 (includes Whitwell from 1783) Item 13 Baptisms 1813-1863 Item 14 Baptisms 1863-1901 Item 15 Marriages and banns 1754-1771 Item 16 Marriages 1813-1837 Item 17 Marriages 1837-1901 Item 18 Burials 1813-1883 FHL BRITISH Film 1596458 Items 10-18
Item 19 Burials 1883-1901 FHL BRITISH Film 1596458 Item 19
Archdeacons transcripts Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Hackford-by-Reepham and Whitwell shared the same chapel and records. Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Burials 1600-1608, 1629-1633, 1665-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526782 Item 4

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,161 times.