Hadlow Down, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hadlow Down, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Sussex Parishes
|Hadlow Down, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield PLU|
|Parish registers: 1836|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1836|
|Rural Deanery||South Malling|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
HADLOW-DOWN (St. Mark), a district parish, partly in the parish of Buxted, hundred of Loxfield-Dorset, and partly in that of Framfield, hundred of Loxfield-Camden, union of Uckfield, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 5 miles (N. E.) from Uckfield; A neat parsonage-house has been erected by subscription; and near the church is a national school.
Hadlow Down St Mark the Evangelist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex, created in 1837 from chapelry in Buxted, Sussex Ancient Parish and Mayfield, Sussex Ancient Parish.
A history of the church and parish St Mark Hadlow Down
The Parish Church of St mark the Evangelist has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Hadlow Down, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Hadlow Down, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hadlow Down
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 366-369. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2015, at 11:55.
- This page has been accessed 1,411 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News