Hailsham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Hailsham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hailsham, Sussex
Hailsham St Mary East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hailsham PLU
Registration District Hailsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAILSHAM (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, partly within the liberty of the borough of Pevensey, but chiefly in the hundred of Dill, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 52 miles (E.) from Chichester, and 55 (S. S. E.) from London;  There are places of worship for Baptists and Calvinists; and a national school supported by endowment, The union of Hailsham comprises 11parishes or places.[1]

Hailsham St Mary is an Ancient Parish in Sussex.

Church History Hailsham St Mary

The parish church of St Mary has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Hailsham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Hailsham Wikipedia

In 2005 the parish church of Emmanuel Church Hawkswood was formed from part of this parish see a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Hailsham registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex,The Register Office, Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hailsham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161. The 1841-1911 census records have been released and are indexed in many ways. The 1821 census transcript Is available through the Family History Library and www.familysearch.org

The 1831 census transcript Is available through the Family History Library and www.familysearch.org

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Hailsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-372. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
An informative website about Hailsham Hailsham Facts

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,363 times.