Hale, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Hale, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hale, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prescot PLU
Registration District Prescot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prescot
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HALE, a chapelry, in the parish of Childwall, union of Prescot, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 11½ miles west by southwest of Warrington. The chapel, dedicated to St. Mary, was built by 1572.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Hale chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Childwall to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


HALE ST MARY Chapelry  (1572) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1572-1741, 1813-1893 1572-1754, 1843-1872 None
LOPC 1873-1896 1821-1841, 1897-1910 None
LBMD None None None
AC 1572-1754 1572-1754 1572-1754
'CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS'PARISH (1557) Indexes(ancient parish containing HALE Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1557-1853 1557-1638, 1653-1838 None
LOPC 1557-1753 1557-1638, 1653-1753 1653-1728
LBMD None 1837-1963 None
AC 1557-1753 1557-1753 1557-1753


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Hale and comprising the whole ancient parish of Childwall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CHILDWALL ALL SAINTS PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.

Genealogy

Bell, Kathleen.  Who Was Mary Pomfrey.  A discussion of the family of Peter Pomfrey and Mary Yates married in 1846 at Hale Village.  Mary also married Will Hughes in 1854. Article covers years 1841-1977.  Article in magazine, Hel Achau, #11, Winter 1983, pages 21-22. Family History Library Ref. 942.93 D25h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-379. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,618 times.