Hale County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Hale County

Guide to Hale County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Hale County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 30, 1867
County Seat Greensboro
Courthouse
Hale County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Hale County Courthouse
1001 Main Street,
Greensboro, AL 36744 
Phone: (334) 624-4334
County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage, divorce, probate court
and land records from 1868 [1]

History

Parent County

1867--Hale County was created 30 January 1867 from GreeneTuscaloosa, Marengo and Perry Counties.
County seat: Greensboro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Alhale.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biographies

Biographies of many notable residents of Hale County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 1053.

Cemeteries

Census

Hale County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1870 21,792
1880 26,553 21.8%
1890 27,501 3.6%
1900 31,011 12.8%
1910 27,883 −10.1%
1920 24,289 −12.9%
1930 26,265 8.1%
1940 25,533 −2.8%
1950 20,832 −18.4%
1960 19,537 −6.2%
1970 15,888 −18.7%
1980 15,604 −1.8%
1990 15,498 −0.7%
2000 17,185 10.9%
2010 15,760 −8.3%
For tips on accessing Hale County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Hale County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Hale County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.143 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hale County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Yerby, William Edward Wadsworth. History of Greensboro, Alabama: From Its Earliest Settlement. Montgomery, Ala.: The Paragon Press, 1908. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Military


Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hale County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Hale County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Hale County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Research Guides

  • Inventory of the County Archives of Alabama: Hale County. Birmingham, Ala.: The Project, 1940. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
  • 1918-1919 - Hale County Birth Index 1918-1919. Batch C593267 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Hale County Public Library/Hale Co-Greensboro Library
1103 Main Street
Greensboro, AL 36744
Telephone: 334-624-3409

Collections include local histories and family histories, newspapers, census records, and more.


Family History Centers

Hale County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Helpful Websites

Hale County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hale County p. 37. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 11,619 times.