Halifax All Souls (Northowram)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Coley

Guide to Halifax All Souls (Northowram), Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

Owram North or Northowram or Halifax All Souls Northowram, was a chapelry, in the township and parish of Halifax St John the Baptist and union of Halifax, containing 13,352 inhabitants. This township, which includes numerous villages and hamlets, forming a north-eastern suburb to the town of Halifax, comprises by computation 4887 acres; rising in some parts into mountainous elevations, and in others presenting open vales, and deep and narrow glens. In the vale of Shibden is the Horley-Green spa. A church has been erected at Queenshead (by 1847). There are chapels for Independents, Baptists, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and New Connexion Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Halifax All Souls (Northowram) exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
HALIFAX ALL SOULS (NORTHOWRAM) CHAPELRY (1644) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1644-1788 1646-1796 1655-1802
FS 1644-1837, 1843

1646-1823

None

HALIFAX ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1910 1538-1910 1538-1935 1538-1935 1538-1916 1538-1916
FS 1538-1593,
1720-1847
None 1538-1593,
1720-1837
None Add None
JOIN None None 1538-1599 None None None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Halifax All Souls (Northowram) and comprising the whole ancient parish of Halifax St John the Baptist to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HALIFAX ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464261.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date assessed: 22 November 2013
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,568 times.