Halifax Christ Church, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.png Halifax Christ Church

Contents

Parish History

Halifax Christ Church or Mount Pellon Christ Church was created a chapelry in 1854, lying within the parish boundary of Halifax St John the Baptist ancient parish..[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the North Yorkshire Registration District Calderdale registration district held at the Calderdale Registration District Offices.

Births, marriages and deaths include:

  • Date and palce of event
  • Maiden surname of the mother (births only)
  • Name, rank and occupation of the father (births and deaths of children under 15)
  • Names
  • Place name and address of principal

Marriages especially include:

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. However the Yorkshire BMD index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the FreeBMD index

Records for Calderdale which includes the Greater Halifax region, may be obtained from the following office:

Calderdale Registration District
The Register Office
Spring Hall
Huddersfield Road
Halifax HX3 0AQ
United Kingdom
Tel: 01422 288080 or 01422 284472
Email: register.office@calderdale.gov.uk

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Halfiax Christ Church does not exist at this time; continue to check each or all of the following websites and for from 1854. It was attached to the ancient parish of St John the Baptist so check available online content for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
HALIFAX CHRIST CHURCH CHAPELRY (1854) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None
JOIN None

None
None

AC None
None
None


HALIFAX ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1538) Online Records

 
Baptisms
 
Marriages
 
Burials

 
Indexes  Images  Indexes  Images  Indexes  Images
AC  1538-1910  1538-1910  1538-1935  1538-1935  1538-1916  1538-1916
FS  1538-1593,
1720-1847
 
None  1538-1593,
1720-1837
 
None  Add  None
JOIN  None  None  1538-1599  None  None  None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Halifax Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Halifax St John the Baptist to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Halifax St John the Baptist page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.

Poor Law Unions

Northallerton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 154-158. Date accessed: 28 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,686 times.