Halifax St John the Baptist, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Halifax

Guide to Halifax St John the Baptist, Yorkshire family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

For a fuller list of Halifax's churches, see A Complete List of Halifax's Chapels and Churches.

Halifax St John the Baptist, Yorkshire
Halifax Parish Church.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Halifax PLU
Registration District Halifax
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Rastrick beginning 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Rastrick beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Here is an 1848 historical perspective on Halifax by the famous 19th century topographer, Samuel Lewis. For a more complete overview on Halifax's numerous churches, additional parish and chapel information has been added from Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870) to supplement this (Lewis') treatise on this very large township parish (see bracketed information below in the highlighted 'parish' section of this page):

"HALIFAX (St. John the Baptist), a parish, partly in the union of Todmorden, but chiefly in that of Halifax, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York; comprising the market-town and borough of Halifax, the parochial chapelries of Elland and Heptonstall, and the townships of Barkisland, Erringden, Fixby, Hipperholme with Brighouse, Langfield, Lightcliffe, Luddenden, Midgley, Norland, Ovenden, North and South Owram, Rastrick, Ripponden, Rishworth, Shelf, Skircoat, Sowerby, Soyland, Stainland with Old Lindley, Stansfield, Wadsworth, and Warley; the whole containing 130,743 inhabitants, of whom 19,881 are in the town, 42 miles (S. W.) from York. 

The borough comprises the whole of the township of Halifax, and parts of the townships of North and South Owram.

The present church is the third structure erected on the site, and some slight remains of former churches are incorporated in the building. A church dedicated to 'Holy Trinitywas built in 1798.The district church of St. James was erected in 1831. The district parish of St. Paul, King's-Cross' was opened in May 1847. Many other churches have been erected in the parish, which are described under the townships where they are respectively situated.[1]

From Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England, on Halifax

'The mother church, that of St. John the Baptist, stands at the east end of the town; is supposed to have been originally built, in the time of Henry III. All Souls church, or Haley hill church, noticed in our article on HALEY HILL, ranks next in interest to St. Johns. Trinity church, in Harrison lane, was built in 1795; and is a handsome Grecian edifice. St. James' church was built in 1828; St. Mary's church was built in 1869. A new cemetery was formed, in 1841, at a cost of about £5, 000; and another, at StoneyRoyd, was formed in 1861.

An Independent chapel, was built in 1857. Another Independent chapel was built in 1869. There are also three other chapels for Independents, three for Baptists, one for Quakers, one for Unitarians, two for Wesleyans, one for Primitive Methodists, two for New Connexion Methodists, one for United Free Methodists, and one for Roman Catholics.'''There are [additional] places of worship for... Methodists of the New Connexion, Unitarians, and Wesleyans...and a general cemetery for all denominations.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

 Church records

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
HALIFAX ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1910 1538-1910 1538-1935 1538-1935 1538-1916 1538-1916
FS 1538-1593,
1720-1910
None 1538-1593,
1720-1920
None 1705-1927 None
JOIN None None 1538-1599 None None None
                                   HALIFAX CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry - see Mount Pellon








HALIFAX HOLY TRINITY CHAPELRY (1795) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1832-1846

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

                               HALIFAX ALL SOULS HALEY HILL (1859) Online Records

                Baptisms           Marriages            Burials
FS None




JOIN





AC





HALIFAX ALL SOULS (NORTHOWRAM) CHAPELRY (1644) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1644-1837, 1843

1646-1823

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

HALIFAX ST AUGUSTINE CHAPELRY (1872) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes  Images  Indexes  Images  Indexes  Images
FS  None
None
None 
JOIN  None
None 
None
AC  None 
None 
None 
HATH  None

None 
None 
IARC  None 
None 
None 
HALIFAX ST HILDA CHAPELRY (1909) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes  Images  Indexes  Images  Indexes  Images
FS  None 
None 
None 
JOIN  None
None 
None
AC  None 
None 
None 
HATH  None 
None 
None 
IARC  None 
None 
None 
HALIFAX ST JAMES CHAPELRY (1832) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1832-1844, 1856-1896

1837,1859,1881

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

                                           HALIFAX ST JOHN IN THE WILDERNESS CHAPELRY - see Cragg Vale

                         Baptisms
      Marriages
      Burials







HALIFAX ST JUDE CHAPEL (1891) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FS
None
None Add None
JOIN None None
None None None
  HALIFAX ST MARY CHAPEL (1870) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184




JOIN None

None
None

AC None
None
None


              HALIFAX OLD ST PAUL CHAPELRY (1772) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1833-1870

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


HALIFAX ST PAUL, KING'S CROSS CHAPELRY (1847) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 146

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC  None 
None 
None 
HATH  None

None 
None 
IARC  None 
None 
None 
HALIFAX ST THOMAS THE APOSTLE (1860) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes  Images  Indexes  Images  Indexes  Images
FS  None 
None 
None 
JOIN  None
None 
None
AC  None 
None 
None 
HATH  None 
None 
None 
IARC  None 
None 
None 
                                                                 BARKISLAND Chapelry (1854) Online Records

                  Baptisms
          Marriages
                      Burials

Indexes
Images
Indexes
Images
Indexes
Images
FS
None
None
None
None
None
None







                                                                      BIERS Chapelry (1732) Online Records

                Baptisms            Marriages                      Burials

Indexes
Images
Indexes
Images
Indexes
Images
FS





BRIGHOUSE CHAPELRY(1701) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1842-1903

1780-1906
1701-1930
JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

                                         BRIGHOUSE ST JAMES (1870)














                                                      CRAGG VALE Chapelry (1815) Online Records

                Baptisms
             Marriages
                      Burials
FS
None
None
None
COLEY Chapelry (1720) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS   1720-1910  1720-1753;1837-1923

1734-1802;1813-1925
JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

CROSS STONE PARISH (1813) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1813-1838
1828-1837
1828-1833
JOIN None

None
None

AC None
None
None
  ELLAND Chapelry (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1600-1841

1600-1837



JOIN None
None

None
AC 1559-1910 
1559-1910 1559-1935 1559-1935 1559-1944 1559-1944
  ERRINGDEN Chapelry (1815) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

  -1911

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

GREETLAND Chapelry (1858) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 884

86

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  Chapelry (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 14

886

  911

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

HEBDEN BRIDGE CHAPELRY (1833) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1833-1870

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


  HEPTONSTALL Chapelry (1593) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1599-1899

1593-1872

181

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  HILL TOP Chapelry (1843) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  HIPPERHOLME ST MARTIN Chapelry (1831) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1540-1884

1541-1886

1831, 1852, 1909-1911

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  ILLINGWORTH Chapelry (1695) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  LANGFIELD Chapelry (1707) - see Heptonstall Chapelry

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
                                         LIGHTCLIFFE Chapelry (1720) Online Records
FS 1720-1846
1706-1724;1838-1920

1710-1934
AC None

None

None

JOIN
  LUDDENDEN Chapelry (1626) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1652-1910

1661-1753;1840-1910

1653-1888

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  MOUNT PELLON Chapelry (1854) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  MYTHOLMROYD Chapelry (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  NORLAND Chapelry (1716) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  NORLAND ST LUKE Chapelry (1866) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  NORTHOWRAM Chapelry (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  OLD BRIGG SOWERBY Chapelry (1538) - see SOWERBY BRIDGE CHRIST CHURCH

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  OVENDEN Chapelry (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  RASTRICK Chapelry (1716) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1716-1836

None

None
JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  RIPPENDEN Chapelry (1684) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  SALTERHEBBLE Chapelry (1847) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1855-1910

1860-1914

1859-1906

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  SHELF Chapelry (1850) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  SOWERBY BRIDGE Chapelry (1664) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  SOWERBY BRIDGE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1821) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  SOWERBY BRIDGE ST MARY Chapelry (1848) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  STAINLAND Chapelry (1782) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  STAINLAND with OLD LINDLEY Chapelry (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  WARLEY ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1878) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  ILLINGWORTH Chapelry (1695) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  IWR Chapelry (1695) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  IH Chapelry (1695) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  IH Chapelry (1695) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

  ITH Chapelry (1695) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 184

156

19

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None



ELLAND PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms[1]
Marriages
Burials


  JOIN None None 1559-1714 None None None FMP 1558-1850
1558-1850
1558-1850
HEPTONSTALL PARISH (1593) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images AC 1593-1904 1593-1904 1593-1935 1593-1935 1593-1898 1593-1898 FMP None None None None None None FS 1599-1847 None 1593-1837 None Add None JOIN None None 1594-1660 None None None LIGHTCLIFFE CHAPELRY (1704) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images FS 1704-1909

1706-1724, 1746,1838, 1839, 1845-1910

1705, 1712-1924

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None

  LUDDENDEN CHAPELRY (1652) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images FS 1652-1907

1661-1753, 1840-1910

1653-1859, 1875-1888, 1895, 1903

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None

SALTERHEBBLE CHAPELRY (1785) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images FS 1785-1910

1860-1914

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None

SHELF CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None

SOWERBY NEAR HALIFAX CHAPELRY (1724) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images FS 1724-1864

1730-1776

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None

SOYLAND PARISH (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None

STAINLAND PARISH (1782) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images FS 1782-1910

1843-1910

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1538 (St. John The Baptist), 1953 (St. James/St. Mary), 1832( St. James), 1903 (St. Hilda), 1872 (St. Augustine), 1798 (Holy Trinity), 1890 (St. Jude), 1870 (St. Mary).


|}

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464259.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848),pp. 372-379. Date accessed: 12 August 2011.
  2. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. (1870). Edinburgh.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 July 2014, at 16:53.
  • This page has been accessed 9,607 times.