Halifax St Thomas the ApostleEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Halifax_St_Thomas_the_Apostle 

Guide to Halifax St Thomas the Apostle, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Halifax Saint Thomas the Apostle, Charlestown was created as a chapelry or district church at Charlestown, within Halifax St John the Baptist ancient parish. The Church was designed and built by 1860.[1]

HALIFAX (St. John the Baptist), a parish, partly in the union of Todmorden, but chiefly in that of Halifax, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York; comprising the market-town and borough of Halifax, the parochial chapelries of Elland and Heptonstall, and the townships of Barkisland, Erringden, Fixby, Hipperholme with Brighouse,Langfield, Midgley, Norland, Ovenden, North and South Owram, Rastrick, Rishworth, Shelf, Skircoat, Sowerby, Soyland, Stainland with Old Lindley, Stansfield, Wadsworth, and Warley, 42 miles(S. W.) from York.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464259.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. [http://freepages.history.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~calderdalecompanion/c109_s.html#650 Malcom Bull's Calderdale Companion. Date accessed: 4 June 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-379. Date accessed: 22 November 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 653 times.