Halliwell St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Halliwell St Peter, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

HALLIWELL, a township, and an ecclesiastical district with two chapels (St. Paul and St. Peter), in the parish of Deane, union of Bolton, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 1 mile northwest of Bolton. The chapel of St. Paul was built in 1848. See also Halliwell St Peter. The Wesleyans have a place of worship here.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Halliwell St Peter chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Deane to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
HALLIWELL ST PETER CHAPELRY (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1840-1924  1848-1957  1840-1965
AC None None None
DEANE PARISH ST MARY THE VIRGIN (1636) Indexes (ancient parish containing HALLIWELL ST PETER Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1829 1604- 1812 None
LOPC 1604-1750  1604-1750; 1837-1890 1604-1684; 1813-1887
AC 1613-1750 1613-1750 None
LBMD 1837-1992


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Halliwell St Peter and comprising the whole ancient parish of Deane to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DEANE ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306925.


Poor Law Unions

Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 379-383. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2103.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:41.
  • This page has been accessed 3,055 times.