Halsall, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Halsall, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is a List of Chapelries Lying within Halsall Parish

Halsall, Lancashire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ormskirk PLU
Registration District Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Meols
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HALSALL (St Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Ormskirk, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster; comprising the townships of Down Holland, Halsall, and Lydiate, and the chapelries of Maghull, and Melling with Cunscough, 3 miles west by northwest of Ormskirk. Halsall was anciently under the barony of Warrington. There were also churches erected at Maghull, Melling, and Lydiate.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

The parish registers for Halsall St Cuthbert Parish and its attached chapelries and their respective chapel registers have been transcribed and are available online at the following web sites and the specified range of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
HALSALL ST CUTHBERT PARISH (1606) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1606-1893 1606-1883 None
LOPC 1651-1914 1660-1904 1653-1919
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1606-1754 1606-1754 1606-1754
MAGHULL ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1663) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1729-1875; 1890-1897 1729-1883 None
LOPC 1729-1921 1729-1919 1834-1894
AC None None None
MELLING ST THOMAS and HOLY ROOD Chapelry (1603) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1603-1837 1605-1645; 1664-1837 1836-1861
LOPC 1695-1921 1696-1920 1695-1851
AC Various Yrs Various Yrs Var. Yrs
LYDIATE ST THOMAS Chapelry (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1841-1921 1848-1920 1888-1907 
AC None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306900.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 379-383. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 3,362 times.