Halton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Halton

Guide to Halton, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Halton St Mary the Virgin.jpg

Contents

Parish History

HALTON, is a village, a township, and a chapelry in Runcorn parish, Cheshire. The village stands on an eminence near the Bridgewater canal, the Northwestern railway, and the river Mersey, it is 1½ mile SE of Runcorn, and 3 miles NNE of Frodsham; it commands an extensive view along the Mersey; was once a market town; and has a post office under Preston Brook, as well as a railway station.  The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Halton St Mary the Virgin is an ecclesiastical parish in Cheshire created  from Runcorn Ancient Parish.

Halton had formerly been a chapel of ease to the parish church of Runcorn but in June 1860 it became a separate parish.

Castlefields, Christ Church (Ecunemical). Attached to Halton St Mary for C of E services. Registers of Baptisms start in 1974, and are held at Halton St Mary (no marriages or burials here).

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241235.

Church records

Halton St Mary the Virgin Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Halton St Mary the Virgin Chapelry (1732) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1780-1887


FS PR's 1732-1909
  NONE
1732-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1732-1887   NONE
1732-1748
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Halton, 1732-1957 Cheshire Record Office call number: P27/1/1, P27/2/1-4, P27/3/1, P27/2632/1-2, P27/3.

Halton was a chapelry in Runcorn parish. The chapelry later became a parish. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1732-1940. Marriages, 1732-1737, 1746-1748, 1860-Jan. 1921. Poor rate assessments, 1763. BRITISH 2186942 Items 8 - 13
Marriages, Jan. 1921-1957. Banns of marriages, 1863-1947. BRITISH 2186943 Items 1 - 4

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's transcripts for Halton, 1732-1887 Halton was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Runcorn.
Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 100.
Baptisms, marriages for 1732-1739 are filmed twice separated with a second title board for item 3.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms 1732-1780. Marriages 1732-1734, 1736-1739, 1746, 1748. BRITISH 1655826 Item 3
Baptisms, 1780-1841, 1843-1845, 1851-1887 BRITISH 1655827 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Halton, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded 1818, rebuilt in 1875.
  • Halton, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1882.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office DocumentReference EMS 109  Halton Methodist Chapel Date 19th century - 20th century Various records1824-1978 URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems109&cid=0

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Runcorn (1837–1974)
  •  Halton (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Starkey, H.F. (1990), Old Runcorn, Halton: Halton Borough Council

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,468 times.