Halton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Halton, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Also see the Chapelry of Aughton, built in 1856 which lies within Halton Parish boundaries.

Halton, Lancashire
St Wilfrid's Church, Halton Lancashire.jpeg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Caton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Halton
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Halton (St Wilfrid), is an ancient parish (operating by 1592) in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 3 miles northeast by east from Lancaster containing, by 1856, the chapelry of Aughton as well. Halton had no fewer than twenty-two dependent townships.[1]

The village consists primarily of modern housing, amongst which can be found a number of 17th and 18th century buildings. The 19th century Textile Mills once harnessed the power of the Lune. Earthworks on Castle Hill show evidence of an 11th century Norman motte & bailey castle. In the churchyard of St Wilfrids stands the Halton Cross believed to have been carved by Norsemen over 1,000 years ago.

Halton Castle was situated in the village of Halton. Halton was an important Anglo-Saxon manor held by Earl Tostig, the brother of King Harold before the Norman Conquest. It is likely that a motte and bailey castle was constructed on the site in the late 11th century. However Halton’s prominence was lost in the 12th century when favour shifted to Lancaster, and Halton Castle was abandoned. Only earthworks now remain and it is privately owned with no public right of way.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

The parish registers for Halton Parish and its attached chapelry of Aughton and its respective chapel registers have partly been transcribed and are available online at the following web sites and the specified range of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
HALTON ST WILFRID PARISH (1592) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1592-1900 1593-1900 None
LOPC 1813-1900 1727-1900 1813-1875
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1592-1837 1592-1837 1592-1837
AUGHTON ST GEORGE Chapelry (1856) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
AC None None None

Original Records
Original parish registers are preserved at the Lancashire Record Offfice, Bow Lane, in Preston, PR1 2RE.

Microfilmed copies of the original parish and chapelry (Aughton St George) registers are available through the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, USA or through its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Here is what's available:

Halton (Lancaster)- St Wilfrid
Baptisms Transcript-1592-1726- 929.3272 H6
Baptisms Transcript-1727-1837- 929.342769 Ha1
Burials Transcript-1592-1725- 929.3272 H6
Burials Transcript-1727-1837- 929.342769 Ha1
Marriage Index-1813-1837- Rossendale Fiche H10
Marriages Transcript-1593-1725- 929.3272 H6
Marriages Transcript-1727-1837- 929.342769 Ha1

For original registers of above please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306915.

Genealogy

Garth and Hilliard of Halton, Lancaster and Liverpool.  A Pedigree chart of Garth and Hilliard, dating from 1658-1983 in those places listed above, with surnames Taylor, Chambers, Simpson, Barker, Long, Grey, Borwick, Smith, Hilliard, Nixon, Blowe, Willan, Butterworth, May, Waller, Brodie, Hyde, Henderson, to be found in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. magazine vol. 11,  no. 4 page 24-25, Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 383-387. Adapted. Date accessed:14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 3,724 times.