Halwill, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Halwill, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Halwill, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Holsworthy PLU
Registration District Holsworthy
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holsworthy
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HALWELL (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Totnes, hundred of Coleridge, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 5¼ miles (S. by W.) from Totnes. The parish comprises 3000 acres, whereof 815 are common or waste land.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described Halwill like this: HALWELL, a parish in Holsworthy district, Devon; 6 miles SE by E of Holsworthy, and 10 NNE of Lifton r. station. Post town, Holsworthy, North Devon. Acres, 3, 426. Real property, £1, 153. Pop., 257. Houses, 47. The property is divided among a few. The surface is very hilly. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Exeter. Value, £210.* Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church is old and plain, with a tower; and recently was dilapidated. There is a Baptist chapel.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241326.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 383-387. Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,181 times.