Hamble, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hamble, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||South Stoneham|
|Registration District||South Stoneham|
|Parish registers: 1674; For more records see Bursledon and also Hound|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1788; For more records see Hound|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Bishops Waltham with Hamble and Bursledon; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
HAMBLE-EN-LE-RICE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of South Stoneham, hundred of Mansbridge, Southampton and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4¾ miles (S. E.) from Southampton..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hamble, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|HAMBLE PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288802.
Genealogy from Periodicals
Burton, Gerald. Barnes Family In Hamble - Men of the Sea. Family tree of John Barnes and Ann Ford married near Penzance, 1795, and their descendants in Helston, Hamble, Plymouth Littleham and Weymouth. Other names Ayling Warner, Wills, Knight. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. 30, no.2, pages 159-161, FHL Ref. 942.27 B2h
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 383-387. Date accessed: 13 June 2013.
- ↑ 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 20:44.
- This page has been accessed 2,717 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News