Hambleden, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Hambleden, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hambleden, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Desborough
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Henley PLU
Registration District Henley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566; Separate registers exist for Lane End beginning 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575; Separate records exist for Lane End beginning 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wycombe
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAMBLEDEN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Henley, hundred of Desborough, county of Buckingham, 4 miles (W.) from Marlow. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241216.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hambleden on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 383-387. Date accessed and adapted 11 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2014, at 19:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,034 times.