Hambleton, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  RutlandGotoarrow.png  Rutland Parishes

Guide to Hambleton, Rutland family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hambleton, Rutland
St+Andrew Upper+Hambleton Rutland.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Martinsley
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham PLU
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office



Contents

Parish History

HAMBLETON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of Martinsley, county of Rutland, 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Oakham. [1]

Additional information:


The Victoria County History of Hambleton (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Hambleton St Andrew is an Ancient parish in Rutland with a chapelry at Braunston, Rutland within the parish boundary.

In 1976 the opening of Rutland Water (previously Empingham Reservoir) created Anglian Water's largest reservoir serving Eastern England. The Gwash valley was flooded to create the reservoir; Nether Hambleton and most of Middle Hambleton were demolished and their wells were plugged as part of the ground preparation. Their neighbouring village of Upper Hambleton survived, and now sits on a peninsula within the lake known as the Hambleton Peninsula.

The Jacobean style Old Hall in Middle Hambleton (built in 1611) is now situated on the water's edge.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office.

Diocese of Peterborough : Hambleton Bap 1558 - 1926 Marr 1558 - 1846 (Banns to1939) Bur 1558 - 1978


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,030 times.