Hamburg, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Erie CountyGotoarrow.pngTown of Hamburg

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Erie CountyGotoarrow.pngVillage of Hamburg

Contents

Resources

Church Records

History

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Hamburg, NY

Newspapers

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Hamburg, New York newspaper images:

  • Hamburg NY Erie County Independent 1875-1944
  • Hamburg NY Front Page 1964-1979
  • Hamburg NY Photo News 1970-1976
  • Hamburg NY Sun 1945-1988

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Hamburg Public Library
102 Buffalo Street
Hamburg, NY 14075
Phone: 716-649-4415
Fax: 716-649-4160

Genealogical Resources: Newspapers: Blasdell Front Page (1950-present), Erie County Independent (1875-1895, 1920-1994), Hamburg Sun (1945-present).

Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Lafayette Square
Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 858-8900
Email form | blog

Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.

Museums

Dunn House[1]
Hamburg Historical Society
6902 Gowanda State Road
Hamburg, NY 14075
Phone: (716) 648-6460

Societies

Hamburg Historical Society
5859 South Park Avenue
Hamburg, NY 14075
Phone: (716) 648-6320
Museum Only- No Genealogical information

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
716-873-9644
Facebook page
Genealogical Resources: Bibliographies, Finding Aids, Inventories, and Tutorials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.
Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.

Town Clerk

Town of Hamburg, Clerk
S6100 South Park Avenue
Hamburg, NY 14075
Phone: 716-649-6111, ext. 2361
Email: townclerk@townofhamburgny.com

Village Clerk

Village of Hamburg, Clerk
100 Main Street
Hamburg, NY 14075
Phone: 716-649-0200
Fax: 716-646-6558

Town Historian

James D. Baker, Historian
3697 Westview
Hamburg, NY 14075
Phone: 649-6111 Ext. 2400

Village Historian

John Gilbert, Historian[1]
202 E. Prospect Ave.
Hamburg, NY 14075

Town/Village Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Hamburg, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 404. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 January 2013, at 18:58.
  • This page has been accessed 2,918 times.