Hamilton County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Hamilton County
Guide to Hamilton County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Hamilton County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | February 8, 1821 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | McLeansboro |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Hamilton County Courthouse 100 S. Jackson Street McLeansboro, Illinois 62859-1489 618-643-2721 |
County Organization
Hamilton County's civil records start the following years:
| Beginning Dates for Hamilton County Records | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1878 |
1821 |
1878 |
1830 |
1823 |
1821 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Hamilton County are kept, see the Hamilton County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Hamilton County is named for Alexander Hamilton who was the first Secretary of Treasury (1789–1795), and Commander-in-Chief of the United States Army in 1799.
Parent County
- 1821--Hamilton County was created 8 February 1821 from White County. County seat: McLeansboro.
- See an interactive map of Hamilton County boundary changes.
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Records and Resources
Biographies
Cemeteries
The Illinois Cemeteries page provides general explanations of the following online Hamilton County resources:
| Bibliography | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project | Cemetery Location Project |
| Illinois Cemeteries | ||
| Interment.net | ||
| Cemeteries of Hamilton County | ||
| Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project | ||
| The Yesterdays of Hamilton County, Illinois | ||
| Confederate Soldiers buried in Hamilton Co. |
The surname index to Harriet Vaught's Hamilton County, Illinois Cemetery Inscriptions (Vol. 1) is available for free online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
A volunteer through Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness is willing to provide names and dates from tombstones at three Catholic churches in Hamilton County: St. John the Baptist, Pinopolis; St. John Nepomucene, Dahlgren; and St. Clement's, McLeansboro. Click here to learn more.
Local Cemeteries
- Bethel Cemetery in Dahlgren Township
- Big Hill Cemetery
- Crisel Cemetery in McLeansboro Township
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1900 | 20,197 | ||
| 1910 | 18,227 | −9.8% | |
| 1920 | 15,920 | −12.7% | |
| 1930 | 12,995 | −18.4% | |
| 1940 | 13,454 | 3.5% | |
| 1950 | 12,256 | −8.9% | |
| 1960 | 10,010 | −18.3% | |
| 1970 | 8,665 | −13.4% | |
| 1980 | 9,172 | 5.9% | |
| 1990 | 8,499 | −7.3% | |
| 2000 | 8,621 | 1.4% | |
| IL Counties 1900-1990 | |||
Church Records
Copies of Original records
- 1829–1848 Ten Mile Creek Church FHL film 988626 Item 3
A chapter on early Hamilton County, Illinois church history appears in an 1887 local history, available for free online, beginning on page 322.
Catholic
FamilySearch has made parish records from three Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Hamilton County available online (requires free registration). The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:
- Church Records of St. Clement Parish, McLeansboro, Hamilton County, Illinois 1881-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. John Nepomucene Parish, Dahlgren, Hamilton County, Illinois 1893-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. John the Baptist Parish, Piopolis, Hamilton County, Illinois 1841-1959, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
A volunteer is available to do cemetery look-ups at these Catholic church cemeteries, see Cemeteries.
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Hamilton County church records may be found in the FHLC - church records. Histories of area churches may be found in the FHLC - church histories section. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Court Records
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following copies of records may be accessed through the Family History Library
- 1821-1839 Circuit Court record, vol. A–B FHL film 988235
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts or copies of records may be accessed through the Family History Library:
- 1818–1954 Davis, Patricia S. Index to Harriet Vaught's Early land grants of White County, Illinois, 1814-1854 and probate index, 1818-1976. Marion, Illinois: Patricia S. Davis, c1995. WorldCat 33039320 FHL film 1598393 Item 12; book 977.396 R2
- 1818–1954 Vaught, Harriet B. Early land grants of White County, Illinois, 1814-1854, probate index, 1818-1976. Carmi, Ill. : Vaught, 1980? WorldCat 9472590 FHL book 977.396 R2v
- Rockford Map Publishers (Rockford, Illinois). Land atlas and plat book, Hamilton County, Illinois, 1986. Rockford, Illinois: Rockford Map Publishers, c1986. WorldCat 14271381 FHL book 977.395 E7h
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family maps of Hamilton County, Illinois.Norman, Oklahoma: Arphax Pub. Co., c2007. WorldCat 180941793 FHL book 977.395 E7b This book plats the land of many nineteenth-century Hamilton County residents. The publisher's bookstore includes a free online surname listing.
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
- Hamilton County Federal Township Plats
Maps
Military Records
Civil War
Civil War service men from Hamilton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Hamilton County.
- - 6th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies D, H, and K.
- - 40th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and G.
- - 56th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C, F and G.
- - 60th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and G.
- - 71st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- - 87th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and E.
- - 110th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- - 131st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, I and K.
- - 155th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
Naturalization
Original naturalization records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Hamilton County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
- 1824-1860 Circuit Court Naturalization records IRAD (SIU)
- 1824–1860; 1840–1860 Naturalization records index (3 p.) FHL film 1426471 Item 4
- 1860–1883 Naturalization records, intentions and final papers FHL film 988236 Items 1-2
Newspapers and Obituaries
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Hamilton County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
Online Resources
- 1823–1933 The probate journals and will records for Hamilton County probate records are also available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Hamilton County, and select the record type you are interested in.
Abstracts
- 1821–1900 Index: Vaught, Harriet B. Hamilton County cemeteries probate index [1821-1900]. Carmi, Ill.: White County Historical Society, 1989? WorldCat 22365340 FHL book 977.395 V39h
- 1821–1915 Neff, Hazel Lea. Abstracts of wills, Hamilton County, Illinois, 1821-1915. Wayne City, Illinois;: Family Ties, 1986 WorldCat 13760938 FHL book 977.395 P2n
Copies of Original Records
- 1823-1855 Probate Case Files IRAD (SIU)
- 1823-1969 Probate Case Files Index IRAD (SIU)
- 1823–1970 Index of probate files FHL film 988220
- 1823–1838; 1847–1855 Probate files FHL film 98220 (first of 8 films)
- 1823–1933 Will records, v. A–B FHL film 988234 and IRAD (SIU)
- 1838-1922 Index to probate journal FHL film 1426470 Item 1
- 1838-1847; 1855-1922 Probate journals FHL film 988221(first of 10 films)
- 1838-1923 Probate Record IRAD (SIU)
- 1865-1923 Probate Guardian's Record IRAD (SIU)
- 1868-1925 Probate Record, Decrees IRAD (SIU)
- 1871-1875 Probate Guardian's Dockets IRAD (SIU)
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Hamilton County are kept, see the Hamilton County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Illinois Regional Archives Depostitories
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for Hamilton County.
Public Libraries
Carterville Public Library
117 South Division Street
Carterville, IL 62918
(618)985-3298
Dahlgren Public Library
Third And Dale Streets
Dahlgren, IL 62828
(618)736-2652
Mccoy Memorial Library
118 South Washington Street
Mcleansboro, IL 62859
(618)643-2125
Social Groups Online
Societies
Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois has a page with details about its' activities.
Taxation
Vital Records
See
Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Hamilton County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases and the Family History Library.
Online Resources
- 1790–1860 Illinois Marriage index found at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- 1850–1885 U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 found at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
Marriage
- 1821–1870 Harrelson, Ralph S. Marriages, information taken from original marriage documents old marriage record books relative to marriages celebrated in Hamilton County, Illinois, 1821-1870 also a record of marriages celebrated in White County, Illinois, 1816 through 1821. Carterville, Illinois: Genealogy Society of Southern Illinois, c1986.WorldCat 16882912 FHL book 977.39 V28h
- 1821–1854 Felty, Harold G. Marriage records and related notes, Hamilton County, Illinois 1821-1854.Owensboro, Kentucky: Cook McDowell Publications, 1981. WorldCat 7564747 FHL book 977.395 V2f
- 1858-1992 Legacy of kin, Hamilton County, Illinois: relationships, vital statistics, marriages, abstracted from obituaries and notices in Hamilton County newspapers, 1858-1992 FHL book 977.395 V48f volume 1 and 2
- 1899-1929 (with additional notices for 1930-1931) Grandma Deem's marriage notices: Hamilton County, Illinois Other Libraries (WorldCat) and FHL book 977.395 B38g
Death
- 1852–1930 Hatton, Charles E and Ralph S. Harrelson.A history of Mary's Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church, 1852-1967 and school, 1882-1950 in Hamilton County, Illinois including a section giving Mary's Chapel cemetery headstone inscriptions and burial records. Danville, Illinois : Hatton House, 1973. WorldCat 10834674 FHL film 988626 item 5; book 977.3 A1 no. 132
- 1871–1920 Harrelson, Dessie Hunt. Record of deaths. Vol 1 and 2, Carterville, Illinois: Genealogy Society of Southern Illinois, c1983, c1985. WorldCat 52362479 FHL book 977.395 V48
Places/Localities
| |||||||||||||||
To see a list of places in Hamilton County, click on [Show], in the bar above. The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Web Sites
- The Yesterdays of Hamilton County, Illinois. Bible records, biographies, cemeteries, census records, churches, deeds, family records & essays, government/court/crime, histories, old letters, the lighter side, lists/directories, maps, marriages, military, miscellanous, news clippings, obituaries, old photos, wills, queries/researchers, books for sale, links, recent updates, area announcements, site search, lost and found. Carol Lee Yarbough is the branchild behind this valuable resource. It is one of the best places to start Hamilton County, Illinois genealogy searches.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Hamilton County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:15.
- This page has been accessed 3,348 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


